ACTION REQUIRED BY ALL NEW JERSEY EMPLOYERS!
Effective October, 29, 2018, New Jersey is requiring all employers to offer 40 hours of paid sick leave per year to eligible employees. The new law is called the New Jersey Paid Sick Law and stipulates the following:
Employees accrue up to 40 hours of sick time at a rate of one hour for every 30 hours worked.
Employees may use up to 40 hours of sick leave in a benefit year.
Employees can use accrued sick time after the 120th day of their first date of employment.
Sick time must be accrued and sick time cannot be utilized for vacation or personal time.
Reasons for use of New Jersey sick leave include:
Diagnosis, care or treatment of-or recovery from-an employee’s own mental or physical illness, including preventive medical care.
Circumstances related to an employee’s or their family member’s status as a victim of domestic or sexual violence (including the need to obtain related medical treatment, seek counseling, relocate or participate in related legal services).
Aid or care for a covered family member during diagnosis, care or treatment of-or recovery from-the family member’s mental or physical illness, including preventive medical care.
Closure of an employee’s workplace or of a school/childcare of an employee’s child because of a public official’s order relating to a public health emergency.
Time to attend a meeting requested or required by school staff to discuss a child’s health condition or disability.
For additional information, or to find out more about how gente can help you and your clients with Human Resources compliance and challenges, contact us.